Filing Criminal Charges

If you are the victim of a crime, please contact your local law enforcement agency as soon as possible!

Justice Court Procedures for Filing Criminal Charges

To file Criminal Charges in Justice Court:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age
  • You can not file charges on a juvenile in the justice court, you must contact the juvenile court

Justice Court accepts both misdemeanor and felony charges.

The difference between the two are:

  • Misdemeanor - you can serve up to 1 year in the county jail and be fined up to $1,000 plus court costs
  • Felony - you can serve time in prison plus pay fines and costs

Steps to File a Misdemeanor

  • You must have a photo ID
  • You must provide an address where the defendant is located
  • You must provide identifying information on the defendant
  • You must provide details of the incident

Steps to File a Felony

The first step in filing a felony charge is speaking with an investigator with the Pearl River County Sheriff's Office. The investigator will then refer the victim to the Justice Court.

  • You must have a photo ID
  • You must provide an address where the defendant is located
  • You must provide identifying information on the defendant
  • You must provide details of the incident
  • You must have a copy of the sheriff's office report
  • You must know the actual charges the officer advised you to file

Note: Did you know that you could search the MS code online? If filing charges, you can go to Search Mississippi Law to find what charge to use or to look up Mississippi laws.